About Country

Often called “the heart of Africa,” Burundi covers an area of 27,834 square kilometers. Bounded to the North by Rwanda, to the West by Democratic Republic of Congo, and to the East and South by Tanzania, Burundi is part of East-Central Africa. It is part of the region of great lakes and rift valleys, which extends through Central Africa from the Red Sea to Lake Malawi through Ethiopia.

Lake Tanganyika, the best for fishing in the world, has at least 250 species of cichlid fish and 150 species of non-cichlid. From the Lake Tanganyika shores, the land rises steeply to create spectacular rock formations, gorges with waterfalls and hot springs. For animal lovers, the rain forest in the Northwest is a haven for primates, while the Rusizi Delta is an oasis of tranquility and a paradise for birdwatchers.

Burundi is a small (about 10.5 million people) and landlocked country. It has one of the highest population densities in Africa, about 377 people per square kilometer.

Burundi made a successful transition to a multi-party system of government from 2000 to 2005. A transitional government, based on power sharing, took office in January 2002 for a 36-month term. In February 2005, the country approved by referendum a new constitution emphasizing power sharing and protection of minority rights. Parliamentary, Communal & Presidential elections took place in 2010 and 2015. 

Since 2000, the Government of Burundi has implemented a program of financial and structural reforms to stabilize the economy and revive economic activity. The creation of the Burundi Revenue Authority for better tax payment services and tax collection performance and the creation of Burundi Investment Promotion Authority (API) are some of broad reforms achieved in 2009.

Source: Burundi Investment Promotion Authority (API)

Latest COMESA region news

Investment opportunities