Basic Data

Land areaThe total area of the country is 118,484 km², but this includes 24,404 km² of water surface, mainly composed of Lake Malawi, but there are other lakes, namely as Lake Malombe, Lake Chilwa and Lake Chiuta.

Lake Malawi, Africa’s third largest lake which has shire river as an outlet.

In southern Malawi, the terrain is equally varied with escarpments, highlands and mountains and low marshy lands along the Shire River.

Mulanje Mountain which is home to the rare Mulanje cedar, it is the highest mountain in Central Africa, with the highest point, Sapitwa peak rising to 3, 050 metres above sea level.

Population 16.3 million 


Climate Tropical (cooler in highlands)
Languages English, Chewa, Nyanja, Tumbuka Lomwe, Sena, Tonga, Ngoni and Nkhonde
Currency Malawi Kwacha (MK) = 100
Time 2 hours ahead of GMT
Government and Political systemThere is a democratic system of government based on the constitution. The government is led by a democratically elected president. There are three arms of government, namely: the executive, the legislature and the judiciary. The three branches of government work together but are all independent. The executive branch is responsible for policy formulation. The legislature enacts legislation and the judiciary interprets legislation. The executive is headed by the democratically-elected president. The legislature is headed by the Speaker. The judiciary is led by the Chief Justice

Latest COMESA region news

Investment opportunities